Fortunes of War: (Episode 1)

Jan 17, 1988 on PBS at 9:00 PM


Masterpiece Theatre This 7-part series chronicles civilian life in wartime Europe, focusing on an idealist's marriage. The series is based on Olivia Mannings' stories "The Balkan Trilogy" and "The Levant Trilogy". September 1939. War breaks out as ... (more)newly married Guy and Harriet Pringle set out on a journey across Europe and into the heart of the Balkans to Romania, where an uneasy neutrality reigns.

Previous episode

Sorrell and Son: (Episode 5)
Season 17 Episode 14

Jan 10, 1988

Next episode

Fortunes of War: (Episode 2)
Season 17 Episode 16

Jan 24, 1988